caring for a magpie lark

Update: 8 April mudlark flew back to his busy mudlark life

If you find an injured bird, Native Animal Rescue has tips and information on what to do (and not). Make sure you telephone the Wildcare Helpline (in WA) or a wildlife rescue like Native Animal Rescue.

After online advice and taking the magpie lark to Native Animal Rescue for a health check, I know more about caring for an injured bird and he’s doing well.

The magpie lark likely has soft tissue damage in one wing and he needs time to rest and heal. When he can fly again, I’ll take him to the park where I found him and release him. If this takes longer than 3 weeks I’ll have to contact Native Animal Rescue again. After 3 weeks of not flying, birds start to lose wing muscle and need flight training before release.

Magpie larks eat insects, so I feed him Wombaroo Insectivore Mix combined with minced meat as directed on the packet. I haven’t been feeding him enough and he’s underweight. He needs 100g per day to put on weight. He doesn’t eat this amount of Wombaroo+meat so I hope he’s getting more from foraging in the leaf litter of my garden.

magpie lark in the leaf litterHe spends time during the day when I’m home in the back paving area where the woolly bush hedge grows. There’s lots of leaf litter and yesterday I watched him kill and eat a spider. Today he was practicing flying.

He stretches his wings by fly/hopping along this line of pots and log chairs.

=^.^=

if you find an injured animal contact the Wildcare Helpline

Leave a Reply

