Toasting Breakfast

I used to eat toasted muesli* from the shop. I don’t like sultanas and the one I bought had sultanas. I would pour it into a jar, but as I was pouring I’d pick out the sultanas and put them in the compost. Luckily for my sanity, I realised this was a waste of time and money.

After finding a recipe posted by a commenter to Green as a Thistle, I thought I’d try it and I’m never going back! Kim Moir’s recipe was:

2 tbsp veg oil
1/4 cup honey
1 tsp vanilla
3 cups large flake oats
1/2 cup pecans
1/2 cup almonds
1/2 cup raisins
1/2 cup dried cranberries
Heat the veg oil, honey and vanilla until liquidified. Add nuts and oats. Bake in 350 oven, for 20 minutes, stirring for every five minutes. The stirring point is really important, otherwise, you’ll end up with squirrel food. It burns pretty easily.
Let cool, add cranberries and raisins. Of course, you can change the nuts and fruit to your liking.

my bowl of breakfast I altered the ingredients to my liking:

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup processed bran
  • dried pineapple and paw paw

When I first made it, I set the oven to 180ºC (equivalent to 350ºF) but then turned it down to 150ºC after a couple of stirrings. These days I start at 150ºC (equivalent to 270ºF). And yes, it does burn very easily – set your timer and do not leave the room!

I use WA organically grown oats and honey from my local organic shop (and I should start getting organic oil from there too). I like dried pineapple and paw paw and I haven’t been able to find them grown in Australia, so I just buy them from far away and live with the guilt.

*Muesli is the equivalent of granola.

=^.^=

Leave a Reply

